Def FX - Collect Vol 1
  • RELEASE DATE /24 November 2023
  • LABEL /Cheersquad Records & Tapes
  • FORMAT /Available on limited edition clear 12 inch vinyl (100 only), black 12 inch vinyl and digitally
Def FX - Collect Vol 1
Def FX - Collect Vol 1
Def FX - Collect Vol 1 - JohnnyD Photography


Listen - Buy


Cheersquad Records and Tapes announce the release of a collectible vinyl ‘best of’ by DEF FX.  The eleven-track album called ‘Collect Vol 1’, features Def FX classics, like ‘Surfers of the Mind’, ‘Masses Like Asses’ and ‘Kill The Real Girls’. The album is available on limited edition clear 12” vinyl (100 only), black 12” vinyl and digitally (with a bonus track available on the digital release).

Formed in Sydney in 1990, Def FX carved out a unique place in Australian music – both sonically and iconically.  At the core of the band’s success and their critical and public attention was their inimitable blend of electronic beats and samples, rock/metal instrumentation and grunge vocals, which saw them draw comparisons with artists as disparate as Pink Floyd, Metallica and The Prodigy.  Add to this the charm and charisma of the enchanting lead singer and song writer, Fiona Horne and a killer live show, and you have a winning combination that saw Def FX maintain the intrigue and fascination of audiences well beyond the duration of their recording history.

“COLLECT Vol 1” is a compilation album that showcases the band’s indie hits and fan favourites from their early EPs and albums. Curated by Fiona Horne and band historian Robert Wilmshurst, the album features 11 tracks, including songs from the Water, Surge, and Blink EPs, (which in January 1993 were all in the ARIA Alternative Top 10 at the same time) as well as 1995’s  ARIA ‘Best Independent Release’ nominated, Ritual Eternal album, the Post Moronic EP and the Baptism album. As a bonus, there is a surprise extra track on the digital release.