• RELEASE DATE /8 July 2020
  • LABEL /Cheersquad Records & Tapes
  • FORMAT /Vinyl, Digital, CD


01. Old Car to Shangri-La
02. All the Bought Men
03. Jekyll and Hide
04. Under My Rock
05. Cruel to be Caned
06. Drowning Tower
07. Monsters
08. Hunting a Sloth
09. Defcon One
10. Sousa

Buy Now


The Meanies new record Desperate Measures is available for pre-order now via Cheersquad Records and Tapes on special translucent purple vinyl, classic black vinyl, CD and digitally ahead of its release on Wednesday 8 July.

Desperate Measures marks the first studio album from the band since their victorious 2015 comeback record It’s Not Me, It’s You amassed a slew of standout album reviews across the country and reignited Australia’s longstanding love affair with the influential punk-rock outfit.

According to frontman Link Meanie, the album title Desperate Measures reflects the drastic strides we take to stomach the current state of the world.

“Desperate Measures is an album title for the times, whether it be applicable to the rise of right wing anti-intellectualism, the associated denial of impending environmentally apocalyptic disaster or the cultural lobotomy of today’s popular media,” says Link. It’s hard to see a way through this miasma of illogical negativity without… (drum roll)… desperate measures.”

Music by L. McLennan.
Drowning Tower by Lindsay McLennan / Jordan Stanley
Recorded at Hothouse Audio, St Kilda VIC Australia by Jez Giddings and Craig Harnath.
Mixed by Jez Giddings.
Produced by Link & Craig.
Mastered by John Ruberto at Mastersound.
Photos by Peter Wheeler Photography.
Art & Design by Ben Brown.