• RELEASE DATE /4 September 2020
  • LABEL /Cheersquad Records & Tapes
  • FORMAT /Vinyl, Digital


01 Matter Baby
02 The Beat Goes On
03 Winning Smile
04 Sno’flake
05 Famous People Think Up Everything
06 Renign The Benign
07 Remember To Die
08 L’il Pop Writer
09 Anticipation
10 The Hour O’Power
11 You’re The Right Kind
12 Keep ‘Em Guessing
13 Cromagnonman
14 Unresolved
15 Hidden Track

Buy Now


Cheersquad Records & Tapes are delighted to bring you The New Pop Dialogue by Melbourne 3 piece Snout in all her glory on 12″ vinyl for the very first time. A limited run of clear vinyl copies is available on pre-order now, with the album also being released on classic black vinyl, as well as digitally. The reissue of this ripper AuGoGo release from 1996 is coming out on September 4th 2020.

Ross McLennan, Ewan McCartney and Greg Ng, collectively known as Snout, followed up their debut album, 1994’s ‘What’s That Sound?’ in resounding fashion with their 1996 release The New Pop Dialogue. Every track delivers killer blows of prime pop with abandon. This is an album Snout fans will devour greedily and one sure to grab the attention of those bereft souls still unaware of the pop genius of McLennan’s songs.

Melodically and sonically, Ross is a Renaissance man of Brian Wilson proportions. He also writes great words. They have a free-flowing musical lyricism of their own. They can make you laugh out loud one minute and tug gently at the heartstrings the next, the album is a veritable white knuckle rollercoaster ride of fun.

The New Pop Dialogue is a supremely accessible album – pop hooks abound taking root very quickly, no compost required. It is an embarrassment of riches that in lesser hands could have been just an embarrassment. In Snout‘s hands it becomes a very appealing triumph of pop music.


Music and lyrics by Ross McLennan.

Produced by Simon Grounds & Snout.
Engineered by Simon & Ross.
Mastered for vinyl by John Ruberto at Mastersound.
Saxophones by Simon.
Thanks to Lindsay Gravina at Birdland Studios.
Photo by Megan Ponsford.
Finished Art by Black Widow Graphic Design.
Snout are Ross McLennan, Greg Ng & Ewan McCartney.