The Silversound - FuzzBoxGirl
  • RELEASE DATE /23 November 2023
  • LABEL /Cheersquad Records & Tapes
  • FORMAT /Available digitally
The Silversound - FuzzBoxGirl


Listen - Buy


The Silversound follow up their acclaimed debut album with FuzzBoxGirl, a 5-Song EP displaying the span of their psychedelic infused sound out now through Cheersquad Records & Tapes.

A slithering juggernaut of gurgling guitars and dreamscape lyrics bubbling from Melbourne’s dark underground, The Silversound featuring Shane O’Mara, Andrew Tanner, Stu Thomas and Leroy Cope,
is a deep psychedelic trip into the melody-rich tradition of rock’s golden age of discovery.

Lead single “FuzzBoxGirl” swirls into focus and as the name suggests, buzzing, Velcro-tearing fuzz punctuates throughout as The Silversound conjure themselves a hypnotic big come up.  The aural evocation of that shiny moment when the world begins to glow soft and opaque, as you float unburdened through the ether into alternate cerebral plains of existence. The Silversound call the song, “a love letter, a paean to the beautiful, extraordinary fuzz box, a small simple electronic device that changed the course of music.”

Featuring the undeniable talent and status of Lisa Miller on vocals, “Hurdy Gurdy Man” takes the trip another step further, as the jittery peak first begins to outline itself through the haze. The classic mid 60’s masterpiece by Donovan is given The Silversound lysergic treatment, while Miller brings the psychedelic whimsy of the original, her voice, treated with a big dose, but always identifiable. The band share that this particular version was first recorded as a promo and is, “faithful to the original, but stretched out and pushed around”.

The gentle wooziness washes in with “The Honeyeater”, which The Silversound call, “a dreamy soft whisper, an avian love story detailing unrequited passion.” Its gentle lilt immerses before it unfurls further ergine peaks across the stereo spectrum and calms once more.

We are floating now in space as “Pallene” a “tone poem to one of the smallest moons of Saturn” casts its introspection. While the ride is now smooth, the edginess comes as 70’s funk creeps into outro the cosmic jam.

And as the dawn breaks “Sunn Raga” brings the ride to a close. An acoustic duo version of the song recorded live at RRR Independent radio station, performed on Off The Record – Brian Wise’s much loved Saturday morning show.

Phased and funky, fuzzed-up and freaked out, the road-hardened quartet of Australian fringe identities forged their first sojourn during one of the longest, hardest lockdowns on the planet, smuggling hope and tenderness from the gloom; soaring sitars and sky bound propulsion from the depths of pandemic static. From beefy boogie to rainwater jangle, loopy acoustic echoes to woolly overdrive, The Silversound’s aquaplaning guitars and cyclical grooves will turn your dull grey matter inside out and your 21st century blues to every damn colour under the Fat Old Sun.

The Silversound are Shane O’Mara, Andrew Tanner, Stu Thomas and Leroy Cope. Between them, they have been involved with the icons of the Australian music scene; from Paul Kelly to Rebecca’s Empire, Kim Salmon to Dave Graney, Tim Rogers to Lisa Miller, toured the world and recorded a plethora of albums over the last three decades.

Shane O’Mara, maestro guitarist, has played/recorded with Paul Kelly, Tim Rogers, Lisa Miller, Rob Snarski, Chris Wilson and many more.

Andrew Tanner (vocals, guitar) is a founding member of Seven Stories and with Leroy Cope (drums) key member of psyche band Sand Pebbles and The Woodland Hunters.

Multi-instrumentalist Stu Thomas (bass) is a member of Kim Salmon and the Surrealists, Dave Graney & the Mistly, and he fronts his voodoo surf band The Stu Thomas Paradox.

All masters of their craft, they coalesce in The Silversound.